Former staff
S. Gorini

Curriculum Vitae
Sabina Gorini studied Modern History at Oxford University and Law at the College of Law, London. From 1996 to 1998 she worked as a lawyer in a London city firm where she qualified as a solicitor. She then attended a postgraduate course (DEA) in International Economic Law at the Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne specialising in European Audiovisual Law. Before coming to the Institute she worked as an intern in the Audiovisual Policy Unit of the Education and Culture Directorate of the European Commission in Brussels. Her research interests are in the area of European audiovisual law and policy in particular with regard to cinema (protection and exploitation of audiovisual heritage, national and European support schemes for film production).

(with J.J.C. Kabel), Broadcasters' obligation to invest in (cinematographic) film: The Netherlands, Amsterdam, 2005.

The public broadcasting organisations in the Netherlands play a fundamental part with respect to the production of cinematographic films, produced by the Dutch film industry. These organisations are involved in the production of virtually all films of this kind. Participation in cinematographic production takes place on a voluntary basis and, as from 2005, the public broadcasters have announced the adoption of a streamlined film policy which will cover their coordinated investments in cinematographic feature films. The contribution of public broadcasters takes the form of direct investment in film productions. In addition, funding institutions (CoBO and STIFO) exist which are specifically aimed at supporting projects involving a public broadcasting organisation. Although commercial broadcasting organistions have hitherto played a negligible role in this respect, the main commercial broadcaster in the Netherlands, RTL Nederland, has also recently adopted a voluntary policy of investment in cinematographic films.


The Protection of Cinematographic Heritage in Europe, IRIS plus (Supplement bij IRIS - Legal Observations of the European Audiovisual Observatory), 2004-8.


Updated 03.07.2012